Jane Austen: 200 year anniversary!

It’s actually been a while since I posted about Jane Austen and in case you didn’t know, she’s one of my favorite authors of all time! She got me through my first year teaching and during that time my father passed away, so she also has a sentimental place in my heart..

Pride and Prejudice is my favorite book of hers and got me into writing fanfic and eventually pursuing my dream to becoming a published author.

.

I was able to visit her home Chawton Cottage and saw the little writing desk where she wrote her novels in secret. She wrote during the Regency era in England when women’s standing in society was restricted to respectable positions–being a writer was not respectable for a woman, but she wrote anyway and 200 years later we are still reading her books!

.

Notable facts: July 18, 1817 marked the anniversary of her death. She was 41 when she died. While she was alive, she published four novels which were noted to be “By A Lady”. After her death, two more of her novels were published and those were published under her name.

.

Do you have a favorite Austen novel? Which author inspires you?

.

Leave a Reply

