June Reading Wrap-Up

Here’s my June Wrap-up! I had a fantastic month of reading. I’m going to try a different way to rate my books because I really enjoyed most of them. Instead of a star rating, I’m going to use categories instead. Hope you enjoy this!.

✅Heartbreaking and beautifully done:

🔹The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

🔹At the Edge of the Universe by Sean David Hutchinson

🔹The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

.

✅Funny with likeable characters:

🔹Geekerella by Ashley Poston

🔹When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

🔹Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

🔹Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan 

.

✅Authors who deliver what they promise–incredible feats of action, dynamic characters, and astounding worldbuilding:

🔹Thick as Thieves by Megan Whalen Turner (for YA fantasy audience)

🔹Last Argument of Kings, Book 3 in the First Law Trilogy by Joe Abercrombie (Dark fantasy for adults)

.

✅New author I enjoyed and want more of:

🔹The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

.

✅It’s not you it’s me–books I thought I’d enjoy but it didn’t work out:

🔹Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza (The summary and the actual story didn’t deliver, but I do want to read the next book.)

🔹Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill (Romance with a fantasy setting–for fans who enjoyed The Selection series.)

🔹Dreamology by Lucy Keating (I think it’s bc I had this on my TBR for so long, I may have hyped it up too much. It was still very cute though.) 

.

✅The second book was better than the first:

🔹The Crown’s Fate by Evelyn Skye

.

Any books you’ve read recently fall into these categories? What were some of your favorite reads in June?

.


Leave a Reply

