Book Birthday! I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo

Happy Book Birthday to I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo @mauxbot! .

If you’ve been watching my Story, I haven’t shut-up about this book since I got it at @yallwest! I enjoyed it so much! Desi is a high school senior who uses strategies from watching Kdramas to get cute art boy Luca to like her. Desi is endearing and a little misguided, but you can’t help rooting for her. She also has a knack for embarrassing herself around cute guys which I have to admit, provided lots of laughs but was also completely relatable! What I also enjoyed about this story was the way Maurene Goo portrayed Desi’s expectations of being the best daughter so that her father could be proud and so he also wouldn’t have to worry about her. Desi is Korean. I’m Filipino, but I could relate to the Asian cultural expectation on females to do well and succeed especially if your parents migrated to the US for better opportunities. Maurene captures that aspect so well in Desi in her actions to do really well in school and to get into Stanford. 

.

Friends, make sure to add this to your TBR! If you already have it, PLEASE DM me when you’re done so we can chat about it! Who else is excited for this?!

Palace is a fun Kdrama and one of my all-time favorites. If you like manga, the title for it is Goong. And my Goblin Kim Shin notebook was a gift from sweet Didi @bilboandhisbooks. Goblin is a really popular Kdrama from this year which you all should watch!!

.

Leave a Reply

