Book Challenge: Historical Fiction

Happy Monday! Mondays are rough, but Mondays after a holiday? Thank goodness we’re on Spring Break! I hope your Monday is going well. 😊.
For #thehamiltonedition “History has its eyes on you.”– Historical Fiction: All the Light We Cannot See was on my TBR and then my writing mentor suggested I read it. In addition to the amazing writing, my mentor thought it would also be a good reference for me for my own novel. I’m so glad I finally read it! As a reader, the storytelling is so rich with detail and the characters are also painstakingly honest in their portrayal, it’s a compelling story of hope and loss. I highly recommend it!
.

For #squeakybookishlibrary Yesterday and tomorrow: One of the reasons, as a writer, that I enjoyed All the Light so much was the way the author wove all the threads of the past and present together. It’s a bit jarring at first, but then you start to become invested in the story and you want to know more. 
.
For #watermelanerdsapril Villains: I don’t want to give away too much, but the backdrop of this story is World War II. The author does such a fantastic job of capturing the attitude of the era–how it was possible for one man to influence a whole race to do his bidding. The survival and desperation are palpable during a time when being different is cause for suspicion. 

.

I can’t recommend this book enough! Definitely a favorite of this year! What historical fiction have you guys read and enjoyed? The Song of Achilles and The Bronze Horsemen have been on my feed a lot lately. 

Leave a Reply

