Book Challenge: How did you find bookstagram?

For #grimdragon How did you find out about bookstagram? I started this account to build a platform for my writing profile, but I’ve been a reader all my life. I’m so grateful that I found bookstagram! I didn’t know it was there and when I found it, I loved it and was so happy to find other people who loved books and loved talking about them too. .

I had been using the #amreading tag and was still figuring things out, but people found me. (Hash tags really work!) The first person I met was Jessica @novelcravings who is so sweet and I’m happy to call a friend. She was one of the first to like my early posts when I first started out which are so embarrassing!😆 Then I saw she used a tag #bookstagram and my mind was blown! So many pretties!

.

I remember Asma @oasisgirlmd, Alexis @dropandgivemenerdy, and Sarah @newleafwriter were the first big accounts to respond to my comments even though a lot of my comments back then were OMG THIS POST IS BEAUTIFUL. 😅 I was so touched they responded and when I got over my initial shock, I was able to have real conversations with them. They were so kind and inspiring that I wanted to participate more (and if I’m honest, up my bookstagram game a little too😁). 

.

Amy @ladyofthelibrary was the first person who participated in a challenge I tried to host! Maëva @readinginhongkong was another friend I made because she was the first mom I found who talked about balancing mommy duties with the need to geek out and read in her captions. 

.

It’s been a little over a year since I joined bookstagram and I’ve made so many more friends! 

.

Fun fact: the first time I used the bookstagram tag was to share my birthday bookhaul on my 40th birthday. It’s literally a stack of books on a table. 🙈😳😂 Little did I know then what I was getting myself into! 

Leave a Reply

