Book Challenge: January Book Haul 

So I’ve been trying my best to manage my book buying habits and I’ve done a pretty good job. This month I splurged because YAY for gift cards! .

I treated myself to the Joe Abercrombie First Law trilogy and Star Wars Catalyst (the prequel to Rogue One). Both were highly recommended by some of my favorite humans Corey @grimdark_dad and Holly @the_infinite_book_dragon. If you’re looking for Sci-Fi/Fantasy recs, check out Corey and Holly’s profiles!

.

I also treated myself to Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth and The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill. I was excited to find these at Costco! Roseblood was from the January Owlcrate and Like a River Glorious is the second book in The Gold Seer Trilogy by Rae Carson (the first book is Walk on Earth a Stranger). Rae Carson is an auto-buy author. I read Walk on Earth a Stranger this month and loved it! I’m so excited to read the second book. I also got Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy. I didn’t think I’d be getting it, so I checked it out from the library. But after reading “Nothing But Shadow”, I had to have it! And I’m so glad I got it. 

.

I mentioned before that I’m trying to be better at book buying. I’ve been tracking my book and stationery purchases and it’s definitely made me more mindful of what I’m getting. I also try to buy used books or books online when I can. But a new habit I’m trying to keep doing is using the library. It’s actually saved me from buying books that I probably would’ve bought because it’s popular, but it turns out that it’s just okay. It’s also helped me decide on whether a book is worth buying too which is why I picked up Tales from the Shadow Academy Academy and the First Law Series—both of which I previewed through the library before buying them.

.

What do you do to curb your book buying habits? I’d love to hear some helpful tips!

.

Challenges:

#livelaughbooksjanuary and #watermelanerdsjanuary January Haul

2 thoughts on “Book Challenge: January Book Haul 

    1. Jennifer F. Santucci Post author

      Oh yes!! I love using Overdrive and Hoopla to check out audiobooks! I wouldn’t have been able to read as much if it weren’t for both of those library apps.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

