Book Rec: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

I finished A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness @patricknessbooks a couple of weeks ago and loved it! I had it on my TBR for some time now and moved it up because the movie comes out December 23rd. No spoilers here, but I will say I highly recommend it if you’ve had it on your TBR for a while. It’s about a young boy Connor navigating adolescence on his own and dealing with his mother’s illness. It’s a story about love and coping with loss. Such a fantastic story! Definitely one of my favorites this year..

Featured here are my illustrated edition of A Monster Calls and the behind the scenes movie picture book from @amonstercalls and @focusfeatures. Both are so gorgeous! I love this illustrated version because it captures the spirit of the story and characters so well. I especially love the illustrations of the Yew Tree. The movie book is equally gorgeous. I’ve flipped through it and there are so many details in the film which shows how much they tried to capture the spirit of the book. 

.

Who else has read A Monster Calls? Again, if you haven’t, I highly recommend it. If you listen to audio books, I highly recommend the audio too. The voice actor Jason Isaacs does a fantastic job especially as the Yew Tree.

I hope you’re all having a fantastic Friday so far! Rain again today, so no new pictures, but it’s the start of a family packed, holiday weekend for us! 

.

Leave a Reply

