Book Challenge: Crankiest Character 

For #winterwonderlandbooks16 Crankiest Character: Inquistor San dan Glokta from The Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie. Even though I’m only 100 pages in this #currentread, it’s probably a bit premature to make such a judgment on this character, but I’m pretty sure he really is the crankiest. With good reason though. .

“And your name is?” he asked with a sneer.

.

Glokta’s patience was worn out by the climb. He smashed his cane down on the top of the desk and the secretary near jumped out of his chair. “What are you? A f*cking idiot? How many crippled Inquisitors do you have here?”

.

“Er…” said the secretary, mouth working nervously.

.

“Er? Er? Is that a number? Speak up!”

.

“Well, I-“

.

“I’m Glokta, you dolt! Inquisitor Glokta!”

.

“Yes, sir, I—“

.

“Get your fat arse out of that chair, fool! Don’t keep me waiting!

.

I think this may be my favorite scene so far. Okay. This and the one scene with Ninefingers and the bandits. 

.

I’m really enjoying The Blade Itself. The style is different than what I’m used to. (I go between Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss for high fantasy novels.) But I’m liking the grittier style and I’m already invested in the characters. 

.

Do you guys know Corey @grimdark_dad and Holly @the_infinite_book_dragon who host the #grimdragon challenge? Between the two of them, they are totally blowing my mind with all their Sci-Fi and Fantasy book recs! They are fans of Joe Abercrombie and since they are pretty much amazing humans, I decided to check this author out especially after Corey’s post about Half the World. Thank you guys for the recs! Make sure to visit them and check out their challenge!

.

I got my notification that my December @nerdy.post has shipped! The theme is Fantastic Beasts and I’m SO excited! Also, I finished A Monster Calls last night and OMG. It’s such a heartbreaking and beautiful story! I’ll post more about it later, but I highly recommend it! 

.

2 thoughts on “Book Challenge: Crankiest Character 

  1. Kristen Twardowski

    Glokta is awful. I adore him to bits.

    I’m glad that you are enjoying the book as well! I’ve recommended it to people before but am always concerned that it will turn people off. Like you said, it is a little different than most fantasy. You’ll have to let us know if you end up reading the next book in the series as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Jennifer F. Santucci Post author

      I’m really enjoying it so far. I did have to adjust when I first started. I mentioned before that I’ve read Rothfuss and Sanderson before. They’re a bit refined and subtle in their style. Abercrombie is gritty and visceral in his style. His strength is in conveying the physical reactions his characters have. I love it!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

