Book Challenge: Worse Book Hangover

For #yabestof2016 Worst book hangover I just realized something. It’s been a long time since I’ve featured Laini Taylor’s @lainitaylor series Daughter of Smoke and Bone. This is definitely one of my all time favorite series! I read it earlier this year and it was amazing. I love the story and the characters so much. If you like urban dystopian angel stories, you’ll love this!.

I mentioned how much I enjoyed the story and characters, but what got me in such a book hangover was Laini Taylor’s writing especially the way she wove together angel and chimera folklore into the contemporary setting. At first, you think you should be rooting for the angels, but as you become more entrenched in the story, you can’t help sympathizing with the chimera. I love how she turned the trope of “angels are the good guys” onto its head. 

.

I hope you give this series a chance! Fair warning though: I really enjoyed the first book, but things really pick up in the second and third books, so keep reading! It’s such a fantastic series to get lost in! I can’t wait for her new book Strange the Dreamer out next year. I really need more Laini Taylor in my life!

.

Will I ever catch up on challenges? 😩😆 It’s been that kind of Monday where I just want a mug of tea, a stack of books, and a fluffy blanket to crawl under for the rest of the night. It’s just been a tiring day, but I’ve got some menu planning to do and my WIP muse is seriously calling me to get back to writing. Not that I’m complaining. I just wish I had more time! What are you up to? 

.

#daughterofsmokeandbone #lainitaylor #yafantasy #yadystopia #akivaandkarou 

Leave a Reply

