Book Challenge: A book you’ve been trying to get others to read

For #squeakybookishlibrary Books you’ve been trying to get friends to read! Another one of my favorite books this year was An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir @sabaatahir. So far I got my sister and my good friend to read it. My husband has it on his TBR and says he’ll read it soon. (He finished the Wheel of Time series and was going through a book slump.) .

What I really love about this story is how it starts off as Laia trying to get her brother Darin back. She’s never had to face anything on her own and so she’s faced with challenges that she perseveres through so she can save her brother. Intertwined with Laia’s story is also Elias’s. He has been groomed for a role that he hates and plans to runaway from, but instead of running away, he’s forced to look at who he’s supposed to be and who he actually is. Laia and Elias’s paths cross and they become a source of strength for the other in different ways, but most importantly, they take charge of their destiny.

.

I could go on and on about this book! The second book A Torch Against the Night came out just a couple of months ago and it was also amazing! If you ever get the chance to listen to the audio books, I highly recommend them. The voice actors are really good especially the one for Elias. He’s exactly how imagine how Elias would sound! 

.

How’s your Monday going so far? I’m a little tired from staying up late writing. 😁 I finished rereading my WIP progress so far last night and got so fired up from it that I started writing again! After several months of not writing, it felt really good getting back to it! I was able to get just over 500 words in which finished up the chapter I was working on. A slow start for me (I usually average between 1k-2k+ words during a writing session), but after months of no writing, I’ll take it! I’m desperate to get back to writing but I have to adult! 😩😁 Hope You’re having a great day so far! 

.

Leave a Reply

