Book Challenge: These standalones kick butt!

For #squeakybookishlibrary Always winter, but never Christmas-no matter how much you tried, you just couldn’t…okay. I’m not saying I’m completely giving up on these books. I actually started The Goldfinch, Crown of Midnight, and All the Light We Cannot See. I plan to get back to them eventually, but I think I just have to be in the right mood. 

.

For #grimdragon “It’s a major award!” Award-winning books, These are all fantastic books, but I picked up The Goldfinch and All the Light We Cannot See because they are award-winning books and also because they were highly recommended by so many people I know. 

.

For #yabestof2016 This standalone kicks butt! I didn’t want to leave with books that I haven’t read YET, so I’m including these books that I have read and highly recommend. Vengeance Road is one of my favorite books this year. It’s a YA Western and it’s a story about a young girl’s revenge against the men who killed her father. My Lady Jane was a surprising favorite this year. I received my copy from the June Owlcrate. It’s a YA historical fantasy based on Lady Jane with a slight change in her life—there’s magic and she gets her own happy ending. Another favorite is Princess of Thorns. It’s a YA Fantasy inspired by Sleeping Beauty. I’d say it’s grittier than the usual retelling—think along the lines of A Court of Thorn and Roses. A few other fairy tales are included in this which I also enjoyed. 

.

What are some books you didn’t finish? Do you plan on going back to them? Or are you moving on?

.

How’s everyone’s week so far? I’m chipping away at my Christmas list, but I feel like time is going by so fast! Anyone else behind on their Christmas shopping? 

.

#vengeanceroad #princessofthorns #myladyjane 

Leave a Reply

