Book Rec: Orange by Ichigo Takano

I plan to do to a proper November wrap-up soon, but I wanted to feature Orange Volumes 1 and 2 by Ichigo Takano in particular. I buddy read Volume 1 with Natasha @shotmeinthebook and enjoyed it so much. After I read Volume 1, I ordered Volume 2 right away! You definitely want to have the second volume on hand once you finish the first. .

Here’s the summary from Goodreads:

.

A Plea From the Future
On the day that Naho begins 11th grade, she receives a letter from herself ten years in the future. At first, she writes it off as a prank, but as the letter’s predictions come true one by one, Naho realizes that the letter might be the real deal. Her future self tells Naho that a new transfer student, a boy named Kakeru, will soon join her class. The letter begs Naho to watch over him, saying that only Naho can save Kakeru from a terrible future. Who is this mystery boy, and can Naho save him from his destiny? This is the heart-wrenching sci-fi romance that has over million copies in print in Japan!

.

Orange is about living with regrets and hoping for better things. The story shifts from high school Naho and friends to their future selves. High school Naho is living with possibilities and hope for the future and when she gets the letters from her future self, she learns some of her regrets and decides that she will try to change the things she regrets, mainly with the new boy Kakeru. This is not just a boy meets girl story though, it’s a fantastic friendship and coming of age story too. If you’re reluctant about the sci-fi aspect, don’t be! It’s very light—think Rainbow Rowell’s Landline—not crucial to the mechanics of the story, but just enough to move the story forward. This was such a fantastic read! I highly recommend it if you’d like to try manga too!

.

If I’m honest, Orange has got me back into my love for manga! I was super into it years ago and stopped (I don’t remember why!), but I’m loving it. I also finished Ouran High School Host Club (OMG TAMAKI 😍) and Kimi Ni Todoki: From Me To You (AHHH. Kazehaya and Sawako❤️🙌🏽). Any other manga readers out there? If so, what are you currently reading? I need recommendations please! 

.

#orangemanga #takanoichigo #graphicnovels #shoujo #kakeruxnaho #manga 

3 thoughts on “Book Rec: Orange by Ichigo Takano

Leave a Reply

