Nanoprompt Challenge: What if?

For #disneypotterchallenge, I most relate to this Disney princess…Moana! I am SO ready for this movie, friends! For many reasons, this movie means so much to me. First, it looks like it’s going to be an awesome movie! Also, Moana will be the first Disney princess to represent Pacific Islanders! And, it speaks to me on a creative level too! .

Here’s wikipedia’s summary for Moana:

On a mystic island in Polynesia, the young daughter of the chief of the tribe, Moana from Motunui Island, is a girl chosen by the ocean to reunite the heart of Tehiti. She sets sail in search of Maui, a legendary demigod and hopes to save her people.

.

Awesome, right? I feel like it’s paving the way for my own WIP. I have to admit, I’m anxious about my story because it’s quite unique in the sense that it’s a fantasy inspired by ancient Filipino culture. European/Medieval fantasy has been the norm for so long, it’s tough breaking into the market with something new. The fact that Disney is taking a chance on a story like Moana speaks volumes, but also gives me hope that there is an audience for my story too. 

.

For #nanopromptchallenge, What if? My WIP is inspired by the Philippine folktale Maria of Makling Mountain. Maria was a diwata, a forest spirit of Makling Mountain, who came down to a village. There she met a mortal man and fell in love. She had hoped to marry the mortal man, but instead, he married a mortal woman. Because her heart was broken, Maria returned to Makling Mountain. To this day, the mountain range resembles the profile of a woman lying on her back. WHAT IF Maria was actually used to win a war? What if she was banished and imprisoned in the mountain? What if it turned out Maria had a daughter who was half human, half diwata? This is just part of what my WIP is about. (This stuff is pretty good and I haven’t even gotten to the really good part yet. 😆) When my story gets published (BECAUSE DAMN IT. IT WILL.), I hope you give it a chance!

.

Featured in this post is the Target Exclusive Funko Pop Moana. Two of my research books for my WIP. An original watercolor bookmark “Spirit Forest” by the extremely talented Tahira @tjlubrano. 

Leave a Reply

