Book Challenge: Favorite Author

I’m SO glad it’s Friday. Not just because I’m going to spend time with family celebrating my birthday (okay that might be a big part of it), but I’m also ready to just relax! I don’t think I’m the only one, but this week has been super busy, right? Reading and journaling sounds so good to me. (Well, it always does. Haha.).

For #boookstagramchallenge “I’m your #1 fan!” Favorite Author, since it’s been forever since I’ve posted about Jane Austen, I thought how perfect! To those of you new here, HELLO!, and I’m a big Jane Austen fan. Featured here are my Penguin Classics of Northanger Abbey, Persuasion, and Pride and Prejudice. These are my top three favorite Austen novels. I was so thrilled to get these at the LA Times Festival of Books. I’d only seen them on bookstagram. They are absolutely gorgeous, but seeing them in real life is quite different. I love the cloth bound covers and the attention to lettering and design too. 

.

Also pictured, for #grimdragon Banged up and beautiful: Most Worn Out Books, is a 1929 illustrated Macmillan and Co. edition of Pride and Prejudice. It’s actually in quite good condition considering how old it is. The red leather cover is so soft and supple, an indication that it has been loved and the gold leaf lettering and design on the spine (I wish you guys could see the spine) is still bright and gorgeous. (Oh! Maybe I should do a flip through on Story for this edition!) The best thing about this book, besides its cute travel size, is that I bought it at the gift shop at Jane Austen’s House in Chawton Hampshire. (There’s a sticker inside that says its from there! Abi @thesqueakycupboard!) It is by far one my favorite souvenirs! 

.

This is also for #watermelanerdsoctober #bookandtea because tea goes so well with Austen. I’m drinking the standard PG Tips black tea. For #pinkbooksoctober Autumn colors. I’m really loving doing these flat lays in autumn/Halloween themes! 

.

What are your plans for today and the weekend? I hope they’re fabulous and to all my Florida friends, I hope you’re all safe and doing well.

.

#janeausten #prideandprejudice #northangerabbey #persuasion #janeite #austenite #janeaustenforever #classicbooks #classicreads #penguinclassics

Leave a Reply

