Offerings to my idols

In case you missed it, last Saturday, I went to a book signing for Sabaa Tahir @sabaatahir who was being interviewed by Nicola Yoon @nicolayoon at Barnes and Noble at The Grove. It was an amazing experience and I’m still wrapping my head around it. .

I like to bring authors a small gift when I can. I had decided to make a copy of the found poem I created for Sabaa’s #torchstagram contest that I entered and was selected as a winner. (Btw, my signed Torch copy came yesterday and I put it up on my Story.) I didn’t want to make Nicola feel left out, so I made one for her based off of her book Everything, Everything. They both seemed to like it and said they were going to put it up in their offices. šŸ˜ØšŸ˜³šŸ˜­ Okay. So I’m pretty much ruined for the rest of the year. 

.

Lettering was done with my favorite lettering pens Pentel Touch Pens and the border was done with the Artist’s Loft water color paint palette from Michael’s. I tried to coordinate the ink and watercolors to match their covers. 

.

Even though I’m new to lettering, I didn’t hate these and I’m so glad the authors liked them!

.

Anyone else bring offerings to their idols? If so, what do you guys bring? If not, you can ask me about how nonchalant I was about giving these to them, i.e. how much I tried not to squeal and sob when they said they liked the poems. 

.

#sabaatahir #anemberintheashes #nicolayoon #everythingeverything #barnesandnoble #thegrove #yafantasy #yacontemporary #lettering #handlettered #handmade 

Leave a Reply

