Book Challenge: Childhood favorites 

Here are some of my Childhood Favorites for Throwback Thursday #livelaughbooksseptember! .

Growing up, we didn’t have a lot of books in the house, but I loved to read. I would read whatever I could get my hands on: newspaper comics, encyclopedias, cereal boxes, etc. School was where I could get books and where most of my fond memories of books come from. I read James and the Giant Peach when I was in 6th grade with my class. I remember loving the story especially when my teacher would read aloud parts of it. Another favorite of mine from 3rd grade was Where the Sidewalk Ends (not pictured). I would reread that book so many times! At one point, I had Hungry Mungry, Sick, and Sarah Sylvia Cynthia Stout memorized.

.

When I started junior high (that’s what they used to call middle school in the olden days), my junior high library had so many more books than my elementary (do you remember that? Going to your junior high library for the first time and thinking how amazing there were so many more books compared to your old school?). Anyway, I tried reading whatever I could find, but I was always drawn to The Hardy Boys mysteries. I would get so twisted up over the mysteries! Haha. Also at that time, I read To Kill a Mockingbird. I had really wished that I could be friends with Scout (I had a crush on her brother Jem.)

.

Share what your childhood favorites were in the comments! I feel like I missed out on some classics and need to catch up!

2 thoughts on “Book Challenge: Childhood favorites 

    1. Jennifer F. Santucci Post author

      The titles you mentioned are titles I didn’t discover later in life! My parents were immigrants, so I wasn’t exposed to any children’s classics.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

