Book Challenge: If you like that, then read this. 

For the #grimdragon September challenge, the prompt Read this, if you liked this—If you liked Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card, then you should read Illuminae by Jay Kristoff @misterkristoff and Amie Kaufman @amiekaufman. They’re both such fantastic stories, full of action and amazing characters. The format of Illuminae is unique too because it’s told through files, video transcripts, and messages. Also, if you get the chance, I highly recommend the audio version of Illuminae. It’s done with a full cast and the voice for Aidan is amazing and creepy! .

Funny story about Ender’s Game. When my husband, at the time, boy I was dating, said he liked to read and that his favorite book was Ender’s Game, I was a bit skeptical. I was a snobby English Lit Major at the time and was like Classics all day, every day. But, because I really liked him and wanted him to like me, I gave Ender’s Game a try. After that, I learned that it’s okay to like other books besides the Classics and if he liked awesome books like this, it was meant to be. Twenty years together, four kids named after favorite authors and characters, and hundreds of books later, we’re still talking about and recommending books to each other like it was the first time. 

.

Here are some of my current favorites: A Darker Shade of Magic series, Mistborn series, My Lady Jane, An Ember in the Ashes (OMG TORCH IS KILLING BTW), and The Raven Cycle. I liked these, so what would you recommend I read?

3 thoughts on “Book Challenge: If you like that, then read this. 

Leave a Reply

