Bullet Journal Challenge: My Advice

Here’s my response for the prompt My Advice for the #planwithmechallenge:.

If you’ve been following me for a while, I’ve featured my #writersbulletjournal and my real life/mommy bullet journals often. I love sharing them because notebooks 🤓, but also besides reading and writing, I really do enjoy all forms of journaling. My advice, if you’re considering getting into bullet journaling is to first figure out what you want out of your bullet journal. For me, I created my #writersbulletjournal because I wanted to track my novel writing progress and reach my goal of reading at least 50 books this year. I created a separate bullet journal for real life because I was having trouble remembering ALL THE THINGS and I wanted a better way to track the chores that were (or weren’t) getting done. 😅

.

Once you figure out what you want to get out of your bullet journal or what to get out of planning, get to know the system your using and accept that it’s not a perfect system and it’s okay if you need to make changes. If it feels like it’s not working, it’s because it needs adjustment, not that you’re failing. I started bullet journaling last September (Almost a year!) and it took me several months to figure out what I needed and how to adjust the system. The first month was to get to know the system, the next few months were experimenting and by January, I had a pretty good idea of what was working and what wasn’t. So, if you feel discouraged or frustrated, just remember it took me four months to figure out what worked for me! 😁

.

Last, don’t be afraid to ask for help or reach out for support! There is a very supportive journaling community (much like the book community) and everyone is so helpful and kind (again very much like the book community)! Some tags to check out: #bujojunkies #bujocommunity. Here are some accounts to also check out: (The Queens) Kara @boho.berry, Kim @tinyrayofsunshine, Dee @decadethirty, and Jessica @prettyprintsandpaper! And here are some of my favorites: Heather @ohayohbento, Haley @haleyjournals, Allycia @hopedreamjournal, Kacheri @passion.themed.life, Stephanie @scrubs_n_coffee, Christine @writingbravely! I know I’m missing so many more! I apologize to anyone I’ve left out! 

.

** I have a special giveaway planned for my fellow stationery addicts once I’m done with the current one. Check back this weekend for details!  

Leave a Reply

