Bullet Journal Challenge: Menu Planning & Planner Hack

For the #planwithmechallenge, planner hack and menu planning, I use Maybooks @maydesign for my menu planning and keeping track of what’s in stock and what’s low in the fridge, freezer, and pantry. For menu planning, I order a Maybooks with an undated menu planning insert. I’ve used this for four years now and love how I can go back and look at old menus when I run out of ideas for meals. The right page is lined for grocery lists. The back of the book has more lined pages for recipes. For the other Maybook, I keep monthly lists of what’s in stock and what’s low in the fridge, freezer, and pantry. I had lists of what we needed on my immediate grocery list, but I needed a way to keep track of of long term items because I’d always forget! Like ketchup! I think my family would swim in it if I let them! .

For planner hack, I had been using a notepad to make lists of what I needed from our deep freezer, what to prep, and possible meals for the following week. Instead of rewriting this every week, I created a table on Word and made copies to cut and tape in with washi tape to put in my menu planner. I carry this to the garage where our deep freezer is to do some “shopping”. Then just put it back in my menu planner and when I got to the market, I can see what I already have and what I need.

.

I love cookbooks, but since Pinterest, I don’t look at them as much as I used to. But these two are my favorites for quick and good meals. I love Trader Joe’s and I keep our freezer stocked with a lot of their freezer items like their mini-meatballs and orange chicken. So good! They’re great for fast and easy meals. The Italian Wedding Meatball soup recipe from one of these cookbooks is great! 

.

What are some of your go-to meals? I’m prepping for back to school soon and I’m looking up some of my favorite, quick meals. I’d love to hear yours!

Leave a Reply

