Book Challenge: Bookish Pet Peeve

For #livelaughbooksaugust, Book pet peeve, I really don’t like it when pages or covers are bent! 😔 I’m okay with normal wear and tear. A lot of my books are used! But, it bothers me when it’s done in such a way that it’s obvious the previous person did not care about the book! I bought the first book in this series The Girl in the Steel Corset from Thriftbooks and the front and back covers were bent. They do say on the website the condition of the books, but I don’t remember it saying the covers were bent. Also, if you saw on my Story the other day, I received Nevernight by Jay Kristoff. It has gorgeous maps, but the end pages were bent! 😩 I also don’t like when I check out books from the library and the pages are dog eared. I don’t mind so much if the pages get unfolded, but when they’re left folded, unicorns die. 😔.

So, I bet you’re curious about this series, right? 😏 Funny story about how I discovered it. I actually found the second book The Girl in the Clockwork Collar at Book Off (used book store), but I didn’t know it was the second book. It read like a standalone, so I bought it. When I got home, I actually was talking to Didi @bilboandhisbooks about this book and she pointed out that it was the second book. AHHH. 😅😩 To be fair, when I found the book, I had my kids with me and I didn’t look too closely and it was a total cover buy.

.

Anyway, I found the first book at the library and started reading it. After the first two chapters, I knew I’d like it, so I treated myself on my anniversary last month and bought it (along with other books). There’s actually a fourth book in the series and I’m still working on getting it. I’m done with the first one. The writing isn’t the greatest and there are some aspects of the world building that I’m not sure about, but since it’s the first book, it doesn’t bother me yet. I like the characters a lot and the story was good. I discovered this after I had finished Clockwork Princess, so I was eager to start it. I’d say this series is not as polished as TID and the characters are a little grittier, but still enjoyable over all. I’ll check in now and then when I’ve read the other books!

3 thoughts on “Book Challenge: Bookish Pet Peeve

    1. Jennifer F. Santucci Post author

      AGREED. Even more frustrating is when someone loses a book! I had a friend borrow Fault in Our Stars and then lose it. It had been a gift and I didn’t get to read it. 😔

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

