Book Challenge: Favorite Retellings

For the #livelaughbooksaugust, Favorite retellings, YA fantasy especially fairytale retellings are my favorite! I actually prefer retellings that aren’t strict retellings or the Disney version. .

Uprooted is inspired by a Polish folktale that was actually my favorite story last year! If you love fantasy stories with an elemental magic system, you’ll enjoy this one! Rosamund Hodge is one of those under-hyped authors. Her fairy tale retelling game is strong. I loved her book Cruel Beauty which was inspired by Beauty and the Beast, but my favorite is Crimson Bound inspired by Little Red Riding Hood. Her retellings are dark and unapologetically gruesome at times. I’m excited that she’s coming out with a new book in September Bright Smoke, Cold Fire. True to her style, it’s a Romeo and Juliet inspired story with necromancers. RIGHT?! I’m SO on board. 

.

I don’t know if I need to explain the awesomeness that is Cinder and The Wrath and the Dawn. Do I? Because if I do, WHAT HAVE YOU BEEN DOING ALL THIS TIME? But seriously, these two retellings are incredible.

.

Avalon High by Meg Cabot is such a fun retelling of King Arthur’s knights, but in a modern high school setting. In true Meg Cabot style, it’s funny, light, and romantic. I’d recommend this if you’d like to test the waters so to speak on retellings. I believe Disney made a TV movie for this and we shall never speak about that again. 

.

This last retelling is not technically inspired by a real fairy tale, but you could consider Pride and Prejudice a fairy tale feeling type of story, right? Pride, Prejudice, and Jasmin Field by Melissa Nathan is my favorite P&P retelling. Jasmin Field is a journalist who decides to audition for a charity theater performance of Pride and Prejudice. The play is being directed by the famous international actor Harry Noble. Jasmin shows up to audition for the part of Elizabeth Bennet, but as she waits, she overhears a cutting remark from Harry Noble about her which sets her off. Harry reads Mr. Darcy’s part—the proposal—during the audition which Jasmin reads in such a way that would make Elizabeth Bennet proud. Eventually, Jasmin learns that she got the part for Elizabeth Bennet, but that Harry Noble has decided to not only direct the play, but also play the part of Mr. Darcy! YES. This is as good as it sounds!

.

Let me know what are your favorite retellings! I’m always on the look out for more! 

10 thoughts on “Book Challenge: Favorite Retellings

  1. natalie4269

    Retellings are some of my favorite books to read!
    I have never heard of Uprooted but as of now it has been added to my to be read list 🙂
    I agree that Rosamund Hodge doesn’t get enough love. I’ve read cruel beauty and love it but I haven’t read Crimson Bound. I’m eagerly waiting for the Romeo and Juliet one.
    I love all the ones you mentioned. I think The Madman’s Daughter is considered a retelling of The Island of Dr.Moreau (sorry the comment was so long)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. natalie4269

    Retellings are some of my favorite books to read! I’ve never heard of Uprooted but as of now it’s in my tbr 🙂
    I agree that Rosamund Hodge doesn’t get enough love. Also, have you heard of The Madman’s Daughter? I think it’s considered to be a retelling of The Island of Dr.Moreau

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. natalie4269

    Retellings are some of my favorite books to read and I agree that Rosamund Hodge doesn’t get enough love. Also, have you heard of The Madman’s Daughter? I think it’s considered a retelling of the Island of Dr. Moreau

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

