Book Challenge: Lord of the Rings Published 1954 

This is a day late, but I still wanted to post for this! Happy Lord of the Rings Book Birthday! Published in 1954, JRR Tolkien pretty much set the bar for the fantasy genre. I’m sorry to say that I’ve only read Fellowship of the Rings so far. Like all classics, it requires focus and patience. I did start Two Towers, but I couldn’t handle all of the singing from Tree Beard. I just. I can’t. I will go back and give it another chance. I’ll just probably skim over the singing. :D•

I do love the movies!! I know die hard LOTR fans hate them, but I can’t help liking them so much. I’ve pretty much come to terms with the fact that book adaptations will never please every reader and might even suffer scorn from them. But, I do appreciate the details and care that Peter Jackson put into the movies. It wasn’t easy adapting a series like this and I think he really tried to be true to the spirit of the stories.

Funny side story: The first time I saw the movie FOTR, I didn’t really think much of Legolas’s character because ARAGORN. I even scoffed at Legolas when they were in Rivendale and he was like “I will lend you my bow”. Then when I saw him fighting the Orcs, I was like ummm, I think I may have to reconsider this. I know. SHAME. But, it may have been the reason why I was so motivated to read FOTR. Maybe. Sort of.

#lotr #fotr #lordoftherings #jrrtolkien #legolasisbae

Challenges:

#livelaughbooksjuly Lord of the Rings Published in 1954 (July 29) • #julywithcj #infinitepages

Leave a Reply

