Bullet Journal Challenge: Long term collection | Novel Log

Here’s another long term collection in my #writersbulletjournal. If you’re new to my feed, first, hello! I’m an avid reader, but I’m also a writer. I use my Leuctthrum 1917 for my reading and writing life. One of my goals this year is to finish writing my novel by the end of the summer and I’m on pace to finish! One of the reasons that has helped me stay on pace is my Novel Log. It’s inspired by Kim’s @tinyrayofsunshine Blog log layout. It’s a word count layout for each day for the whole year. Kim used it as a way to measure her word count per day for her blog posts. It’s such a great way to gauge word count progress over a daily, monthly, and yearly overview. I liked the idea so much, I decided to modify it and use it for my novel writing.•

One of my daily goals/task is to put in at least an hour of writing a day. Sometimes I meet it, go over, or don’t get in any time. You can see in the early part of the year, I was a beast! I had daily word counts and made great progress. When spring break hit, my progress slowed significantly because I was on vacation and so was my family. Because of that, I had a hard time getting back into my daily writing routine. Then in the month of June there was no novel progress because I spent the whole month revising two pieces for my writing program. It was intense, but really neat to go back to an earlier draft of my novel and see how much progress I’ve made.

July has been the month to get back to the writing routine. Even though I haven’t been writing on a daily basis, writing has been part of my day in some way. I added a color code to show the difference in the type of writing I do. Purple is for my novel word count. Orange is used to check off finished chapters. Blue is for revising for my writing program (which I’ll stop using now since I’ve finished the program). Pink is for revising. Green is for research. 

My current goal is to finish a chapter this week that is a climatic scene for the second part of Act II of my story. It’s exciting, nerve wracking, and fun writing it. I just wish I could spend more than an hour, but with kids at home, I take what I can get!

Challenge:

#planwithmechallenge “Long term collection”

Leave a Reply

