Anniversary Date Night Haul

I had fantastic evening with my husband for our anniversary last night. After dinner with the kids, he took me to Hobby Lobby. I know. Amazing, right? Trust me, I know how lucky I am! It was actually the first time I’d ever been and it was incredible. We didn’t know they closed at 8, so we got there at twenty minutes to closing time. I’m a little sad, but in retrospect, it was probably a good thing that I didn’t get to spend more time there. I could’ve done some serious damage! Afterward, we went to Michael’s which happened to be down the street, Barnes & Nobles, and we ended the night with shaved ice! I’ll be sharing what I got from Hobby Lobby in another post, but here’s what I got from Michael’s and Barnes & Nobles.•

I’m so in love with these covers! I love Emily Dickinson’s poems and was thrilled to discover this lovely (faux) leather bound copy. This picture doesn’t do it justice! I love the scrolling details of the leaves and flowers. I also bought this gorgeous copy of the Barnes & Nobles Classics (faux) leather bound Pride and Prejudice. You guys know how I’m a fangirl for Jane Austen (see letter to Elizabeth Bennet and Mirror of Erised posts). I love the foil lettering of the title and if I’m honest, I don’t think I would have appreciated the details as much if it weren’t for Alexis @nerdy.post and Annette @quoteandquill. If you guys aren’t following them, GO NOW. They’re lettering skills are ninja! And if you watch enough of their videos, you get mesmerized by the way they handle their pens. They make lettering look so deceptively easy! I love this cover so much because I know a lot of effort and time went into lettering it.

I’m not a bookish swag collector. Don’t get me wrong! I love it all, but I don’t really know what to do with it and I don’t have much room on my shelves to display it all. BUT, for the first time, I bought a Funko Pop. If there was ever a Pop that I’d buy for myself, it HAD to be Elizabeth Bennet! This is her from the Pride and Prejudice and Zombies movie. She looks so bad ass! I’ve only read the book (which I thought was hilarious!) and I’m so eager to see the movie.

And added to my bookstagram prop collection are these three sweet little birds from Michael’s Sophie collection. I could not resist! They’re so cute and my daughter’s name is Sophie so it was a sign that I had to get them. 

When I was looking through my haul when we got home, I was so gleeful of all the things! Books, washi tape, scrapbook paper pads (I have a growing obsession for beautiful scrapbooking paper). I said I was really grateful to him for indulging my love for all things books and paper and he had said, “Oh, I’m glad this all makes you really happy. Trust me. I could’ve been in bigger trouble.” HAHAHA. Advantages of being married to a total booknerd and writer, right? 

#janeausten #prideandprejudice #elizabethbennet #funkopop # barnesandnobles #michaelscraftstore #janeite #austenite #janeaustenforever

Leave a Reply

