Book Challenge: Wanderlust and Happy Hour: Who would you have a drink with?

Again, I’m out of order and late with my prompts, but what can I say? Better late than never, right? :0 This is for the prompts Wanderlust and Happy Hour: Have a drink with? from #livelaughbooksjuly.  •

I know what you’re thinking, wait, why would you want to go to the Empire?! I wouldn’t want to actually go to the Empire, but I do miss this world and the characters. I read An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir @sabaatahir at the beginning of this year and I’m STILL thinking about it. I enjoyed the ancient Roman inspired world which was unique. I loved the details about Black Cliff Academy and also the different classes of the society. It’s so compelling to read! 

And I would want to have a drink with Elias Veturius. The poor boy has been through so much especially with his mom who is cray and I think a nice pint would help lessen his burden. And OKAY. He is a super hot, bad ass warrior and I’m totally into that too! ❤ And if you get a chance to listen to the audiobook, DO IT. The narrator who does Elias’s chapters are worth it alone!

The second book is coming out next month and I CAN’T EVEN. GUYS. SERIOUSLY. I’ve read the preview on Mashable and it’s going to be so good. I found out Sabaa Tahir is at #sdcc and will be signing arcs today and I’m seriously thinking of crashing it. Otherwise, I’m counting the days furtively. 

On top of the map of the Empire is a bookmark I got from Barnes & Nobles. It says “There are two ways of spreading light: to be the candle or the mirror that reflects it. -Edith Wharton”. When I saw this, it reminded me SO much of Elias and Laia. If you’ve read the book, you’re like, IT SO DOES. Right?! Anyway, I bought one and was able to give it to Sabaa Tahir at the LA Times Festival of Books. She seemed really happy about it and I was thrilled that she seemed to like it. Several months pass and then about a month ago, she posted on her Instagram her current reads with the bookmark I gave her and she tagged me in the caption, thanking me! GUYS, we are bookmark twinses. I’m ruined for the rest of the year. 

Now, tell me who you’d like to have a drink with? Come on. Let’s fangirl together!

Challenge:

#livelaughbooksjuly “Wanderlust” and “Happy Hour: Have a drink with?”

Leave a Reply

