Book Challenge: The Mirror of Erised: What do you see?

I’m late (as usual) with the #julyfantasychallenge prompt: Mirror of Erised: What do you see? but I have a good reason! I wanted to post this on a very special day. Today is our 15th wedding anniversary. Next month will be 22 years since we’ve been together. WOW. I’m old! Hahaha. No, but seriously, I never imagined my life would be so amazing. •

In the Mirror of Erised I see love, hope, and devotion. I see my past, present, and future. I see inspiration and determination. I see that my husband and my children are all part of this. I see that many years have passed, but it’s also the beginning of another chapter of my life.

This is also for #ampersandsjuly16 “Always”.

And if you’re wondering what Jane Austen has to do with any of this, Pride and Prejudice is my all time favorite book. I discovered it during a hard time in my life—my first year teaching and in that same year, my father passed away. Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy helped provide light and laughter during a time when I needed it most. This story also inspired me to write and when I learned that Jane Austen wrote all of her stories on a little table in secret, I also became motivated to become a writer. Because if Jane Austen can write six novels, by hand, on a little table, in secret, I sure as hells can write one too!

Leave a Reply

