Book Challenge: Favorite Secondary Character

I will admit that I had a hard time getting into the Shatter Me series. I nearly gave up after the first book, but then bookstagram was like “Um. NO. Keep reading.” And I was like, “But Warner is SO creepy.” And bookstagram was like, “NO. It gets better. Warner is bae.” And I was like, “Nah.” 
But because I love bookstagram so much, I persevered and I’m so glad I did. And yes, Warner is bae, but you know what? I love this series even more because of Kenji Kishimoto. I have a serious soft spot for secondary characters like I would pay to read separate stories about them. Neville Longbottom (Harry Potter), Henry Cheng (The Raven King), Chubs (The Darkest Mind), Magnus Bane (Wait, there already is a book about him which I have paid for already!). But you all get the idea right? The enjoyment of a story is even made better with awesome secondary characters. I really enjoyed Kenji’s humor and confidence. I also liked how his character was a true friend for Juliette (and not another ploy to cause unnecessary tension). I love so many of his lines from Ignite Me, but this is one of my favorites:
“Are you out of your goddamn mind? You think we can take on two hundred soldiers? I know I am an extremely attractive man, J, but I am not Bruce Lee.”
“Who’s Bruce Lee?”
“Who’s Bruce Lee?” Kenji asks, horrified. “Oh my God. We can’t even be friends anymore.”
“Why? Was he a friend of yours?”
“You know what,” he says, “just stop. Just—I can’t even talk to you right now.” 
Oh, Kenji!! Haha. Who are your favorite secondary characters? I know I’ve forgotten to mention so many more. 
Book Challenge:

#livelaughbooksjuly “Favorite Secondary Character” 

2 thoughts on “Book Challenge: Favorite Secondary Character

Leave a Reply

