Book Challenge: Favorite Covers

When I started The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski @marierutkoski, I had really high expectations for this book. So many people on bookstagram raved about it. I thought it would be insta-love for me. I think the reason why it took a while for me to warm up to it was because it started off as the forbidden kind of attraction that has no hope at all of prevailing kind of story. Don’t get me wrong. I enjoy this troupe like everyone else, but the way this book was hyped, I went into it thinking it was a political, high-stakes, intrigue storyline. I was a bit deflated. But, I kept reading because despite my expectations, I was invested in the characters and wanted to know what happened. 
And then STUFF GOT REAL. I won’t give away spoilers, but in the second half of the book, the story of forbidden love takes a drastic turn and it seems there is no way things will work out because of betrayal and the need to survive. The political, high-stakes, intrigue aspect of the story came in and that was it for me. I really like that the author was inspired by early Roman-Greek history for her world building. The class struggle and the consequences of war comes through so well in the story. I also liked how The Winner’s Curse was inspired by an economic concept of how a commodity can be made valuable during a bid, but once the bid is over, that value diminishes because the buyer has paid more than what the object is actually worth—this is the winner’s curse. How cool is that? 
I’m currently reading The Winner’s Crime and GUYS I’m all knotted up over what will happen with Kestrel and Arin and the Empire. The stakes are SO much higher and I can’t see this ending well. For anyone. The feels are already rebelling. They don’t want to die. I highly recommend this series!
Again, I’m REALLY late, but for the prompt “Lion, Witch, or Wardrobe” for the #julyfantasychallenge, I’d have to say Lion. I bet you guys thought I’d say Wardrobe because of these pretty covers and how Kestrel is a high society lady. I actually think Kestrel is more like the Lion. She is the daughter of a great general in the army and is good at strategizing. I like characters who are strong and smart. Not just pretty in a dress. And because lions are cool.
Also for #livelaughbooksjuly “Favorite Covers” because OMG these covers are gorgeous! 
The Winner’s Crime and The Winner’s Kiss are my #latestbookishpurchase. These were part of my happy mail last Friday! Tag from the wonderful Amy @ladyofthelibrary and Didi @bilboaandhisbooks.

Leave a Reply

