Something New: Art Journaling

The other day, I treated myself to some new markers and washi tape! I had been very good and had not gotten any new pens or washi tape for over a month. Go me! But, I splurged a little because gift cards! YAY for gift cards. Anyway, I’m really excited to try out these Crayola Super Tip markers in my art journal. I was inspired by Sarah’s @newleafwriter gorgeous art journal she features frequently on her feed. She was so kind and generous to post a How-To blog post about how she creates her art journal entries. If you guys haven’t checked out her blog New Leaf Book Nook, go now! It’s such a fantastic site!
After reading Sarah’s blog post, I decided I wanted to start an art journal for books that I’ve read. I used to have my students do art responses for books and I thought OH HEY ME TOO. My first art journal response was for Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman @heyerin. GUYS, if you haven’t read Vengeance Road, move this up your TBR. You can read about it in my post about Books with Diversity a couple posts back. This is one of my favorite books this year. I had a lot of fun creating this art journal entry and since my writing program ended, I can start more! I’m eager to do an entry for The Raven Cycle and The Daughter of Smoke and Bone series. I got this shiny new notebook (Ecolo, lined paper from Target). You’ll notice the pages for my Vengeance Road art journal pages are smaller—they were in a smaller notebook. I plan to transfer these pages in my new notebook. I got a bigger one so I could have more room. I forgot to include my Crayola watercolor colored pencils that I got too. I’m excited to try those!
Anyone try these Crayola Super Tip markers yet? How about the watercolor colored pencils? Do you guys keep an art journal? What do you put in it? We could also talk about how awesome new pens, washi tape, and notebooks are!
Challenges:

#rockyourhandwriting “something new” and “journaling”

Leave a Reply

