Bullet Journal Challenge: My Last Planner

Today’s #planwithmechallenge prompt is “My Last Planner”. I thought this would be a nice time to share with you all how my bullet journal experience started.
Last fall, I started my writing program The Writer’s Studio Online through Simon Frasier University. I’ve been a planner user since college and it had always worked well for me. After the first month of school, I realized that I needed more. In addition to keeping up with the assignments, I had also started writing my novel and needed a way to keep track of my progress. 
I had heard about bullet journaling from my friend Wendy. I decided that I should look into it more because it sounded like something I might like. Once I watched the introduction video by Ryder Carroll on Youtube, I was ready to try! 
Pictured here is my progression from planner to bullet journal. I will admit, before social media, my planner was for recording assignments and due dates. Then when I was researching planners, I didn’t realize there was a whole world of planner goodies! haha. This December planner layout is the last time I used my planner. By the end of that month, I realized that I didn’t need this system anymore. It was a hard decision to come to terms with because I had been a planner girl for a million years. I had been keeping a bullet journal system (the Moleskin Kraft traveler’s notebooks) at the same time I was using my planner and realized that having both systems was becoming redundant. 
By the end of last year, I decided that I wanted to keep bullet journaling for 2016, but that I needed to streamline what I was using it for which is what my current bullet journal is! I had spent the end of December taking the parts of what I liked about my old bullet journals and creating layouts that I could use. I also drew inspiration from the bullet journal community on Instagram which has been incredible! 
As you can see, it took several tries to figure out what worked for me. I don’t want to say I have planner peace because I’m always looking for new ways to be more efficient and productive which means my system will always be fluid. 

One thought on “Bullet Journal Challenge: My Last Planner

Leave a Reply

