Bullet Journal Challenge: Big Plans and Experimenting

I’ve been talking a lot about how I use my #writersbulletjournal for my reading life. It’s helped me see my reading progress and also reach my target goals for books to read each month. I firmly believe that in order to become a good writer, you have to read! I also use my bullet journal for writing progress and goals too.
Pictured here is my Novel Log. It’s a daily word count tracker for the year. I borrowed the idea from Kim @tinyrayofsunshine who created one to track her word count for her blog posts. 
Daily word count goals don’t work very well for me. Instead I’ve set an hour a day for writing. Sometimes it’s less. Sometimes it’s more, but I’ve found this is a measurable, attainable goal for me. I’ve set a goal to be finished with my first draft this summer and start revising by fall. It looks like I’m on track to finish. I’m 65k words into my novel. 
To help me write my novel faster, I’ve experimented with keeping two other notebooks. One is a WIP bullet journal. I use this to track my monthly and daily word counts and story notes. The other is my Revision Notes notebook. Whenever I start a new chapter, I take notes on anything that I need to add or go back and fix. Guys, this has been the hardest skill for me to learn! As someone who is a natural editor, it was hard for me to set aside corrections and revisions and keep going. I haven’t completely broken the habit, but I’m a lot better than I used to be! I started using both notebooks earlier this year and it’s helped so much with my writing productivity!
If you’d like me to go into more details about my writing bullet journals, let me know in the comments. I’ll put together a more detailed blog post about it.
#planwithmechallenge “Experimenting” and “Big Plans”

Leave a Reply

