Book Challenge: Books that melt your heart and Illustration

Sarah Dessen was one of the first YA Contemporary authors I started reading. This Lullaby has been my all-time favorite of hers! Anna and the French Kiss is such a sweet book! It’s pretty much a go to whenever I’m feeling down or just want something fun to read. I picked up To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before this year and I’m so glad I finally read it. I really enjoyed the Song sisters and I might have identified with Lara Jean a little. I also read The Serpent King this year from Owlcrate. I’ll admit, it’s not the kind of contemporary I’d pick up, but I’m SO glad that I did. This is definitely one of my favorite books this year. 
Fangirl and Everything, Everything are both my favorites because I love the stories, but I also identify with the characters really well. Cath from Fangirl reminded me of my fanfiction writing days, but also how fun it was to totally be in love with characters and their stories and not being ready to let them go even when their story ended. (I still believe that Rainbow Rowell was a fanfic writer at some point because the details were just too good!)
Everything, Everything is a great story and I love the character Madeline. She’s so brave and wants to experience life even at a great cost. When I had a chance to meet Nicola Yoon and talked to her. She said that Madeline was inspired by her daughter. She wanted a character that her daughter could relate to (a character who was half Chinese, half black, not terminally ill!). I hugged her after that and I had told her I’m also writing a novel for my daughter for the same reason–I wanted her to have a character who was also half white, half Filipino whom she could relate to as well. And the really neat thing about Everything, Everything is that the cover and all the other illustrations are by her husband David Yoon! (And yes, I met him too and yes I had him sign one of his illustrations in the book!)
Book challenges: #julywithcj “Favorite contemporaries” and “Books that made me melt” • #ampersandjuly16 “Illustration”
Book Merch: Shatter Me coaster designed by Evie @eviebookish and “Let’s Live in Fictional Worlds” and other buttons designed by @bookwormboutique.

Leave a Reply

