June Writing and Reading Update

ALL THE UPDATES!State of my writing life at the moment: I’ve had to pause work on my novel to prepare two submissions for my writing program The Writer’s Studio Online #twso through Simon Frasier University @cs_sfu. One is a five page sample for the program’s anthology Emerge. It will be a collection of writing that this year’s TWSO class worked on during the program. I’m ready to revise it and hope to submit it by tomorrow’s deadline. I still have to write my bio to go with this which is equal parts all the excite and nerves! My other submission is for my Final Portfolio. It’s a twenty page submission that will be reviewed by my mentor June Hutton @hjhuttonjune and one other mentor in the program. I had one section in mind, but I’m reconsidering now because I have lots of ideas for revision and let’s face it, I love the revision process and I’m excited to give it a try. But it will take time which I’m short on (see previous post about being sick and kids’ summer break being imminent). But I think I’m gonna go for it because #gutsgloryglitter. 
State of my reading life: Guys, remind me never to read multiple books of the end of the series at once. I like reading and listening to multiple books at once, but by some cosmic book force, I ended up with The Raven King, Rise and Ruin, and Dreams of Gods and Monsters for my June TBR and OMGODDESSES. June is pretty much going down as the that time I got owned by Laini Taylor, Leigh Bardugo, and Maggie Stiefvater and was pretty much trash for Ronan, Ziri, and Mal, but Nikolai too. My light reading has been a buddy read for Since You’ve Been Gone which I’m finally enjoying. And I also started The Winner’s Curse. I’ve only read the first chapter but I love it already. 
I don’t get to watch TV that often (see above), but when this cold was not conducive to reading or writing, I watched the Netflix version of Voltron. Do you guys remember that show? Maybe I’m showing my age, but it was one of my favorite shows as a kid and this new version is really good too! Highly recommend it!
So, now you know what I’ve been up to. How about you? How’s your June going so far?

Leave a Reply

