LA Times Book Festival Day 2

I attended the discussion for Middle Grade Fiction: Epic Adventures moderated by Sarah Enni with Soman Chainani, MA Larson, Ridley Pearson, and Tahereh Mafi. Such a fantastic panel! I’m eager to read Pennyroyal Academy, Kingdom Keepers, and The School of Good and Evil. Tahereh Mafi also talked about her new book Furthermore. I’m so excited for it! 
In the afternoon, I attended the discussion YA Fantasy: Beyond this Realm moderated by Tobie Easton with Michael Buckley, Romina Russell, Sabaa Tahir, and Mercedes Lackey. (I know right?!) Another amazing panel! Tobie is a YA debut author of Emerge–a mermaid fantasy and managed to get a copy before the official release! This was also the second time I met Sabaa Tahir! She’s been so nice each time. (Even though I’m bordering on stalker behavior!) 
Top corner right picture is Mary Pope Osborne. We listen to the Magic Treehouse books in the car and she narrates her stories. It was so neat to hear her live. She announced that they’re going to make a Magic Tree House movie! My kids are so excited! 
I’m totally exhausted from walking from one end of the campus to the next, listening and meeting authors, and browsing through the multitude of booths, but it was so much fun! As a reader, I loved meeting the authors of such fantastic stories that I’ve read. As a writer, listening to the authors’ advice about being a writer, I feel like I’m on the right path to completing my goal to be a published writer. 
I’m so excited for Y’all West at the end of the month!

  

Leave a Reply

