Used books: Vintage Children’s Classics Nelson Doubleday 

So, last weekend my local library had an incredible used book sale and I may have went a little crazy. Okay. I went nuts! I’ll be showcasing some of the collections I acquired at the sale. I’m so excited to show them to you!
Like this one here. I found these vintage children classics circa 1950 from Nelson Double Day. I love the grey covers with the colored accents. There’s a beautiful colored illustration in front and then the other illustrations are colored in the accent color of the cover. A little strange, but endearing for the era. 

These were the copies I snatched up the first day. I didn’t get the rest because they weren’t titles I was crazy about. Went back the next day and checked to see if the rest were still there. They were gone! Bookworm problems, right? At fifty cents a piece, it’s no surprise they were bought. 
Happy Easter! I hope you all have a wonderful day! If you don’t celebrate, happy Sunday!

  

9 thoughts on “Used books: Vintage Children’s Classics Nelson Doubleday 

    1. Jennifer F. Santucci Post author

      How neat! We only had those children’s encyclopedias growing up and trips to the library. So getting these were such a treat and I hope my kids will enjoy.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Jennifer F. Santucci Post author

        Oh thank you so much! I work very hard at making them look good! I’ve been learning from other bookstagrammers how to take pictures and finding inspiration through their pictures.

        I depend on natural light and taking the pictures when the light is at its best so I try to be consistent. I’ve also started using Camera+ which is an editing app that I love. It’s really change the quality of my pictures. I don’t use filters. I also use my camera phone. I don’t have a fancy camera.

        I highly recommend checking out the bookstagram community on IG. There are serious bookstagrammers there whose pictures will blow your mind! And they’re all about books!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Eve Messenger

        I’ve really been wanting to check it out but Instagram and I didn’t get off to a good start. It was surely a user error but I was never able to log in properly. Maybe I’ll take this opportunity during spring break(!!) to set up a new account and look at all the beautiful book pictures. Oo, thanks for the tip about Camera+, by the way. Does it cost money?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Jennifer F. Santucci Post author

        Definitely give it another chance! I recommend using the tag #bookstagram to search posts. Yes! Camera+ is $2.99. Worth it for me since I can’t really afford a good camera right now.

        Like

Leave a Reply

