My February thematic book challenge:Week 1 Romance/Persuasion

This week’s theme for my book challenge is “Romance”. Yesterday was Pride and Prejudice and how it inspired ideas for my bookish wedding. Today is Persuasion also by Jane Austen. I read Pride and Prejuduce in my twenties and loved Elizabeth Bennet for her wit and refusal to try to win Mr. Darcy’s approval just because he was rich and an eligible bachelor. As a twenty-something year old, it was refreshing to read about a female character who didn’t seek anyone’s approval just to be accepted. 

I read Persuasion in my thirties. Reading Austen later in life is a different experience and Persuasion was the perfect Austen book to read at that time. It’s about a more mature kind of love that endures time and challenges. I don’t think I would’ve appreciated it as much in my twenties. This post features Captain Wentworth’s letter. If you’ve read this, then YOU KNOW. I may have gotten a bit of dust in my eyes while practicing my handwriting with his letter. If you haven’t read Persuasion, you need this book in your life!! (And I snuck Henry Tilney in there too because he’s pretty awesome too.) #books #bookstagram #booknerd #bookworm #bookchallenge #janeausten #janeite #persuasion #ilovebooks #classics #reader #amreading #ilovereading #instareader #handwriting #commonplacebook #fabercastell #fountainpens #washitape

  

Leave a Reply

