My bookish challenge: week 1 Romance Nora Roberts

This is for my February bookish challenge #jennsbookishchallenge. This is a weekly thematic bookish challenge where you can post as many times to the theme as you want. This week’s theme is “Romance”. I know what you’re thinking: This is amazing! How could I have a bookish challenge with a romantic theme and not represent the romance genre? If you haven’t tried a romance, let me persuade you. I was an English lit major in college. I’ll admit, I was a snob. Then I made friends in my first fandom (It was Jane Austen.) and I was introduced to historical romance, specifically The Duke and I. If you know that series, you know how good it is! I know what you’re thinking now: this just gets better and better! 

Then I was introduced to Nora Roberts. I think Montana Sky was my first NR stand alone and then I tried the Chesapeake Bay series. Nora Roberts is a master storyteller and the way she weaves in romance is expertly done. 

But my favorite Nora Roberts series is in the In Death series. It’s a futuristic romance featuring a homicide detective Eve Dallas and Rourke, rich and powerful, who happens to also be the suspect in Eve’s homicide case in the first book Naked In Death. Their attraction builds but Eve is determined to find the murderer even if it is the handsome Rourke. This series is darker, grittier compared to her other contemporaries, but still enjoyable. 

I’ll be honest, I wasn’t sure if this would make a good post for the challenge, but you can’t talk about romance without talking about Nora Roberts. If you’ve read her, what’s your favorite book? If not, I hope you give her a chance! 

#books #bookstagram #booklover #booknerd #bookworm #ilovebooks #instabooks #bookchallenge #reader #reading #read #instareader #ilovereading #romance #noraroberts #montanasky #chesapeakebayseries #jdrobb #indeathseries #romancereader

  

Leave a Reply

