IG challenge: January book challenge #readinginhong012016

This is for @readinginhongkong January book challenge #readinginhongkong012016. The topic is “Books set in Asia”. When I looked for books that I’ve read set in Asia, I was surprised to discover most of what I’ve read was from my manga collection. 😁 Two series that introduced me to manga were Inu-yasha (fantasy that goes back and forth between Feudal and modern Japan) and Kare Kano (high school modern day Japan). Another favorite title is actually a manwha from Korea, Goong. It takes place in contemporary Korea, but with the twist that the monarchy exists much like in the UK. 5 Centimeters per Second is new to me which I’m excited to start. It takes place in contemporary Japan. The titles on the left will be my attempt to transition from graphic novels to prose. It’s also made me realize that I need to make a more concerted effort at diversity in my library. Any other titles you all can recommend would be appreciated. 

#books #bookworm #booknerd #booklover #bookstagram #instabook #manga #graphicnovels #yalit #yafantasy #yafiction #fiction #diversebooks #weneeddiversebooks #bookofathousanddays #silverphoenix #jasmine #thebonesettersdaughter #inuyasha #goong #karekano #5centimeterspersecond

  

Leave a Reply

