January book challenge #nerdybookchallenge

A little late with this one, but Jane Austen is always worth the wait! This post is for @dropandgivemenerdy January Book Challenge #nerdybookchallenge “Admirable Author”. Pride & Prejudice is my all time favorite book. Jane Austen will always hold a special place in my heart not just because she was my first fandom, but for also writing during a time when being a writer was not considered a respectable way for a woman to earn a living. She wrote all of her novels in secret. When Pride and Prejudice was published, the author was listed as A Lady. Pictured in the frame is her writing desk. Her door would squeek (which she purposely left in that condition) so that it would alert her to visitors coming into the room and then she would hide whatever she was writing. She wrote all her novels that way. I had the privilege of visiting Chawton Cottage and saw the desk in person. It’s very humbling and inspiring to see it. I keep the framed picture of her desk over mine as a reminder not to give up on my writing. Whenever I start to doubt what I’m doing and/or get discouraged about my story, I look up and remind myself to be grateful that I can pursue writing without having to hide it. 

#books #bookworm #booknerd #booklover #bookstagram #instabook #classics #janeausten #janeite #janeiteforever #prideandprejudice #inspiration #lifegoals #writing #amwriting #writer #writersofinstagram #writerslife

  

2 thoughts on “January book challenge #nerdybookchallenge

    1. Jennifer F. Santucci Post author

      She truly is! I think about the excuses I’ve made about not being a writer and they’re pretty superficial especially in comparison to what Jane Austen suffered through.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

