18 Authors Share A Day in the Life

This post came at such a fortuitous time. We’re learning about the process and writers’ schedules in my writing program this week. I’ve read about the process for various literary authors such as Maya Angelou, Ray Bradbury, and James Thurber. Their process shows that everyone’s is different, but it was also hard to identify with their process because many didn’t have to compete with modern issues.

I love how the authors in Victoria Schwab’s post talk about dealing with social media, having a job, and how they fit writing in if they have kids.

Victoria (V.E.) Schwab

Hi lovelies.

I’ve been getting a lot of recurring questions about schedule, pacing, productivity, etc, and I thought it might be time to do another DITL post, because I am always interested when other authors do them (and it’s further proof that there’s no right way to this whole author thing. So, now that I’m out of grad school, here’s how my day goes:

I do my best work in the mornings, when and if I can pull myself away from the internet. I have no problem turning it off, but I’m rubbish at KEEPING it off. But ideally, I get up around 7am, walk the dogs, make tea, do my check of email/twitter/tumblr/fbook, etc and then get to writing. In the afternoon, I usually switch to edits or admin work (emails, blogging, etc) because my straying focus makes writing harder. I go to the gym before dinner, waste a…

View original post 4,149 more words

Leave a Reply

